There is a Cross

Rusty Nails and Large Snakes Shawn Kent via Compfight

If Des Moines (my state capital) is fly-over country, then I live in a section of that neglected land that slides by even further out of sight. And so it was that a mostly forgotten roadside shrine on a dirt road to a town that died 100 years ago got me thinking about all of the lives and stories and changes that have created the landscape around me.

There is a Cross

in the ditch of a dusty
county road that
leads to nowhere
but a town whose bones
have been picked nearly clean.

In a shaft of sunlight
over that quiet road,
late-summer midges
rise and dive, just as
they always have.

Plastic flowers long faded –
a name flakes
off the weathered wood.
Last crickets gather in
the dusk, in its shadow.

– Steve Peterson

Published by

Steve Peterson

I teach fifth grade in Iowa.

2 thoughts on “There is a Cross”

  1. A snapshot of a place and time. I love poems where the title is an active part of the poem, rather than just a label.

    May there always be flyovers, so that there are always places retaken by the wild.

    1. I like them, too. I still don’t know when to use that tool, but it is fun to play around with it.
      And, yes, sometimes being off the beaten path is a really good thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *